Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Box Scores

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Box Scores
Is there somewhere to go that I can find daily box scores of games? I am a Chicago Cubs fan and I want to keep up with the status of Roosevelt Brown and Angel Echiverria.

Thanks
Comments
Re: Box Scores
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Mar 31, 2003 9:22 PM | YBS Fan ]

This comes up often (mostly to my mailbox), most recently here.

The short of it is, if you can read Japanese, I'd recommend Yahoo Sports' Baseball. There are no such sites in English that I know of.

One very energetic fan a couple of years ago, to follow her favorite player, taught herself how to read Japanese. I can relate as I taught myself how to read quite a bit before any formal Japanese training as well. So if you've got the desire to learn, it's very possible.

In the long run, box scores is something I want to do with this site. I'm studying the RetroSheet data format so as to be compatible with an existing standard. But the information available to me isn't nearly that detailed, and there are a lot of other things still on my TODO list with higher priority.

If anyone's got access to such data for Japanese baseball that's freely available (with permission from the copyright holder), I'd be more than happy to raise this in the queue and write a page that displays said data. I'm still waiting for a wealthy contributor to donate a press-pack NPB-BIS account.
[ Author: Guest: enrique rojas | Posted: Apr 10, 2003 12:25 PM ]

If Nippon Professional Baseball wants to be on level with the MLB, they first need one site on the web with all stats and news for people that don't live in Japan.
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Apr 10, 2003 2:56 PM | YBS Fan ]

He, he, he. NPB has no desire to become internationalized like MLB. They aren't interested in foreign markets, except for sources of new players.