Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Student Baseball in Japan

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Student Baseball in Japan
Hello. My name's Dung. I'm Vietnamese. I love baseball very much. I've been playing baseball for 5 years in Vietname. I'm a lefthanded pitcher (163cm, 59kg).

I dream that I can study and play baseball in a school or club in Japan. So how can I do something like that? Can you help me?
Comments
Re: Student Baseball in Japan
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Apr 26, 2004 8:13 PM | YBS Fan ]

First, are you high school or collage age? If you're of high school age, there are various international exchange student programs that might be available between the governments of Vietnam and Japan. The Japan Consolate would be a good place to ask about such a program, if one exists.

If you've graduated from high school, and have had a very good academic career, then you might want to look into the Monbusho Scholorship Program [old, possibly out dated web site, but a good place to start]. Baseball will most likely be a secondary consideration under such a scholorship, but it's one way to get into a Japanese collage (after a lot of study) and realize your dream.

There are probably other programs to study in Japan. Your school councelor would be a good person to start with. While playing baseball may be your goal, keep in mind that education is what most scholorship programs are about.
[ Author: Guest: Takeshi | Posted: Apr 28, 2004 8:19 AM ]

If you don't want to study and just play baseball there are the Industrial Leagues (Japan Amateur Baseball Assocation). They have over 200 teams and there's one Vietnamese pitcher pitching there if I am correct. He did not want to be drafted in the low rounds by a professional team so he decided to play in the industrial leagues to improve his draft position and ultimately, the signing bonus.
[ Author: Guest: CAO CHI DUNG | Posted: Apr 28, 2004 2:11 PM ]

Hello, Mr. Westbay. I'm Dung.