Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Uniforms

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Uniforms
A friend of mine asked me why Japanese teams write the names of each player in Roman letters (as opposed to in Japanese) on the back of their uniforms. I did an Internet search and came up with absolutely nothing.

The easy answer is, I suppose, that the Japanese teams want to look like the big leaguers in the same fashion that the Carp uniform design looks like the Reds, the Dragons like the Dodgers, etc. The Roman name is just one more element. But that is just a guess. Does anyone know exactly when/why/how this started?

Thank you for any assistance.

Captain
Comments
Re: Uniforms
[ Author: ricopetro | Posted: Jul 19, 2003 4:20 AM ]

Hi, I'm the Captain's friend who's searching for this information. I just wanted to give everyone a little more background and share my (meager) findings thus far.

So to begin with, I'm a researcher working with a writer, David Feldman, who writes books called "Imponderables." In these, he attempts to answer questions from readers about everyday mysteries. The question I'm currently working on is "Why do Japanese baseball uniforms have the name of the team and the player's last name in English (or at least in Roman characters)?"

In "You Gotta Have Wa," Robert Whiting tells of the Dai Nippon club touring the U.S. in 1935, and says, "[The players were] wearing uniforms with numbers written in Chinese characters, they confused Americans trying to keep score. Their lengthy name was also so difficult for their hosts to master that Shoriki changed it to the Tokyo Giants, after the National League team from New York."