Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Free agent Fan

Discussion in the Open Talk forum
Free agent Fan
I am relatively new to Japanese Baseball fandom. I became interested about a month ago after reading You gotta have Wa. Now I have a fantasy Japanese League team.

But here is my problem. I do not yet have a favorite team.

So here is my question to Pro Yakyu fans. Why are you a fan of your team? I know geography is a part of it but what would you say to someone like me to convince3 them that your team is worth rooting for?

I can tell you that I will NOT be a Giants fan. That seems to be a bandwagon jumping situation for many. We have people like that here in the States. We call them "Yankees fans".

Hanshin is off to a good start to get my allegiance. I understand that they have historically struggled and are now playing well. I am supportive of an American subset of fans who like to root for underdogs. But I am keeping an open mind towards all other teams for possible future allegiance.
Comments
Re: Free agent Fan
[ Author: 1908 | Posted: Apr 11, 2002 8:41 AM | HT Fan ]

I can tell you that I will NOT be a Giants fan. That seems to be a bandwagon jumping situation for many. We have people like that here in the States. We call them "Yankees fans."

Testify!
[ Author: CFiJ | Posted: Apr 11, 2002 11:20 AM ]

> I do not yet have a favorite team.

So here
> is my question to Pro Yakyu fans. Why are you a fan
> of your team?

Geography plays less of a part of it than one might think, at least as far as Japanese fans...

I'm a Cubs fan, so one might think I'd root for Hanshin. They are often called the Cubs of Japan, but given their rivalry with the Giants and the fact that they actually won a championship, I prefer to think of them as the Japanese Red Sox.