Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Tokyo Giants?

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Tokyo Giants?
I don't wish to appear stupid, and obviously I am a total newbie to Japanese baseball. But the only team that I can ever remember hearing about as a kid was the Tokyo Giants. What ever happened to them? I can not find them listed anywhere. Did they break into several smaller teams?? Did they move to a new city? I DID read the FAQ but did not find the answer.

BTW, I am a HUGE Seattle Mariners fan and watch nearly every game. Therefore I do follow MLB.

I am sorry to ask such a basic question.

Thank you in advance.
Comments
Re: Tokyo Giants?
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Jun 16, 2009 4:51 PM | YBS Fan ]

They're more commonly known as either the Yomiuri Giants or Kyojin. They're still around, and still in Tokyo.

Yomiuri is the name of the controlling company, a newspaper and media conglomerate. It was Yomiuri that sponsored the 1934 U.S. tour of Japan let by Babe Ruth. It was Yomiuri who sponsored the Dai Nippon Tokyo Yakyu Club to tour the U.S. in 1935 (renamed the Tokyo Giants at the suggestion of tour promoter Lefty O'Doul, after the popular National League team from New York). The name was translated to Japanese as the Tokyo Kyojin when they returned to Japan and joined several new professional team to start what eventually became the current Nippon Professional Baseball (NPB) league. In 1947 the team name was changed to the Yomiuri Giants, to which it has been to this day.

That should be enough key words to Google around and run through Wikipedia for a while.
[ Author: Guest: EAJones107 | Posted: Jun 17, 2009 5:14 PM ]

Thank you Commish, for your speedy reply.

I still feel foolish for not realizing that they are now known by their corporate name, not by the city they play in. Dumb.