Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Building a pitch-by-pitch database

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Building a pitch-by-pitch database
Hi.

Since the start of the season I have been downloading the individual plate appearance pages (such as http://baseball.yahoo.co.jp/npb/live?id=2008032001&key=01_1_01). I have been doing this by creating a list of all possible urls for the date (within reason) by counting the ".." from the boxscores on this site and then using a download manager to download them.

I tried writing a script to automate the downloading of the files. However, I have no knowledge of any programming language, so---while being a learning experience---it has been unsuccessful in producing anything useful.

Since the url for each plate appearance has the same format http://baseball.yahoo.co.jp/npb/live?id=2008".@month.@day.@game."&key=".@inning."_".@frame."_".@batter"; .

So something such as the below works in printing the urls:

#!/usr/bin/perl

use LWP 5.64;

@batter = (1..9);

for (my $i = 0; $i < @batter; $i++) {
print "http://baseball.yahoo.co.jp/npb/live?id==2008032001&key=01_1_0$batter[$ii]\n";
}

I have one of these for each array; however, I have no idea how to combine them. I also have no idea how to pad the arrays for numbers greater than 9. Finally, this only prints the urls but does not get them. This one gets the pages:

#!/usr/bin/perl

use warnings;
use strict;
use LWP::Simple;

my $i;
my @batter = ('1', '2', '3');
my $page = ("http://baseball.yahoo.co.jp/npb/live?id=2008032001&key=01_1_0".@batter."");
foreach $i (@batter)
{
getprint($page);
}

However, it only works if I only list pages that exist. Lastly, I have this one which asks for user input for an array value (game) and then sees if the url exists:

#!/usr/bin/perl

use LWP 5.64;

my $browser = LWP::UserAgent->new;
$browser->timeout(10);

print "game? "; # Ask for input
$a = ; # Get input
chop $a; # Remove the newline at end