Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Americans in Japanese Baseball League

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Americans in Japanese Baseball League
I am a student at WakeForest University and I am doing a report on how former American players adapt to Japanese Baseball. What are the differences, in both culture and communication, that the Americans have to adapt to?
Comments
Re: Americans in Japanese Baseball League
[ Author: Guest | Posted: Mar 4, 2002 1:12 PM ]

It sounds like everyone's doing reports or research on Japanese baseball these days. Look fellas, don't waste Mr. Westbaystars' time with the same questions over and over.

My advice is this: read all the posts about this subject on this website and if that's not enough, then read Robert Whiting's books "The Chrysanthemum and the Bat," "You Gotta Have Wa," and "Slugging it Out in Japan." There are no shortcuts. Just open those books and start reading.
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Mar 4, 2002 6:47 PM | YBS Fan ]

Thanks, Guest, for pointing out what should be obvious (and is in the FAQ).

I do enjoy answering questions and seeing some good discussions come out of these, like the one that took off on this thread about "Mr. Baseball." And for the most part, the questions (or overviews) have all been different - even though they all seem to have the same title/subject line.

What I would really like to see is more concrete questions and less vague statements on what a given paper is about. Once the general research has been done (and these books are a great starting point), then questions on specific instances for examples would be much more welcome. Or better yet, cut and paste the first draft of your paper here for a "public review" of it. It seems to me that five fanatical fans proof reading a report for facts could benefit any paper. And could even add to it in many ways that were probably not even tought of by the original author.
Adaptation