Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Japanese baseball

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Japanese baseball
hi i'm a university student who as been given a casestudy that she has no knowledge about.
Please please for all baseball fans could you give me a feedback on the following questions

1) Why would someone in Japan want to buy a US Baseball team?

2) What are the implications on internationalization baseball scene

with kind regards

Sexy thing
Comments
Re: Japanese baseball
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Nov 8, 2001 12:51 PM | YBS Fan ]

1) Why would someone in Japan want to buy a US Baseball team?

Well, why would anybody, anywhere buy any baseball team? Is it a good investment? Can one use it to promote a company? Do some fans just have money to burn to the point that they buy a team out of a love for the game?

I don't understand why a buyer in Japan would be any different than a buyer in the U.S., nor that the ball club being in the U.S. has any special meaning over the ball club being elsewhere (other than the amount of press coverage it gets).

2) What are the implications on internationalization baseball scene?

Of buying a U.S. team from Japan? Well, what impact did Nintendo have on the international scene when they bought the Seattle Mariners? Nintendo's owner put up the money to get Sasaki and Ichiro. Both purchases had an impact on the international scene. But I belive that both would have made it in the Majors without Nintendo's backing.

It sounds like your case study is after business decisions and impacts. I'm afraid that I was a Computer Science major back in my own college years, so can't really give you any insight to what your looking for from anything other than a fan's point of view.